What We Do Background and Achievements Our History in Photos Board and Staff Canadian Partners Program Reports Ethics and Privacy
Africa Africa Regional Activities Asia Eastern Europe Latin America and the Caribbean Housing Micro-Finance - Leveraging Economic Growth Housing and HIV/AIDS Housing Rights and Governance Urban Food Security, Urban Agriculture and Housing Spaces
News Update E-bulletins Videos Archive
Employment Opportunities Technical Advisors Volunteers Internships
Zimbabwe Campaign Kenya Campaign Other Campaigns
Working With Us

Technical Advisors

Working With Us



Equal Spaces: Social Housing to End Spatial Apartheid in South Africa  Project


One  Year Placement - Please Respond by 11 May 2018


Rooftops Canada – Abri International, the international development program of cooperative and social housing groups in Canada, has provided technical assistance to South African organizations, social housing groups and government housing departments since 1992. Its programs focus on developing local capacity to plan and implement housing programs and projects with low income communities. Rooftops Canada requires a  Senior Advisor with extensive experience in social housing for a very exciting project in South Africa. The Senior Advisor will help implement the capacity building program for the rapidly expanding social housing sector. This is a one-year position to start in August 2018.


If you are interested, require more information, or to apply, please contact Barry Pinsky, Executive Director, barry@rooftops.ca before 11 May 2018.



Rooftop Canada is the executing agency for the four-year Equal Spaces: Social Housing to End Spatial Apartheid in South Africa Project that started in April 2016. It is part of the bilateral development program between the Governments of Canada and South Africa.


The intent of the Project is to revitalize inner city urban communities using well-managed, affordable and secure social housing developments to provide access to socio-economic opportunities that will both alleviate poverty and contribute to economic growth.


The Project is working directly with the National Departments of Treasury; Human Settlements; and Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation in the Presidency. It is also working with the Social Housing Regulatory Authority (SHRA), the National Association of Social Housing Organizations (NASHO), the South African Local Government Association (SALGA), provincial and municipal governments, social housing institutions (SHIs), community organizations, financial institutions and the private sector. Numerous Canadian partner organizations are also involved.


Over the past ten years, the institutional base for developing and managing social housing has grown. NASHO is now a federation of 22 member SHIs that manage some 26,000 non-profit rental units. SHIs also undertake community and neighbourhood development programs. Many new SHIs are needed to meet the national government’s plans to double the size of the sector.


The project is helping strengthen the programmatic link between social housing and urban regeneration initiatives in South African cities by building partnerships and operational protocols to assist government, social housing, private sector and community stakeholders to develop and operationalize these initiatives. It is also strengthening SHIs as viable businesses able to scale up the development and management of social housing. Gender equality is being enhanced through initiatives aimed at women’s inclusion within institutional dialogue, leadership and economic opportunities. Environmental concerns are being addressed through a “green building” strategy.





Tasks And Responsibilities


The Senior Advisor will work with multiple stakeholders to build the capacity of the expanding South Africa social housing sector, carrying out the following tasks and responsibilities:

·         Assist in the implementation of a comprehensive capacity development program for the social housing sector working closely with the SHRA, NASHO and SALGA.

·         Project manage the development and promotion of business plans to establish ‘back office’ third-party services to support social housing development and management especially for newer SHIs as they scale up.

·         Project manage the implementation of the Equal Spaces Project’s Gender Equality Strategy working closely with the SHRA and NASHO.

·         Help develop and implement reporting, monitoring and evaluation systems related to social housing performance.

·         Help strengthen and increase the sustainability of NASHO’s capacity building programs covering all aspects of social housing development, management, finance and institutional development so SHIs function as viable and growing businesses.

·         Implement local and national workshops and other social housing capacity development activities.

·         Assist with the documentation and institutionalization of online social housing training materials, guides and best practices for continuing use.

·         Provide direct technical support to SHIs and municipalities on their institutional structuring, business planning, policies and procedures to develop and mange social housing in the context of urban regeneration.

·         Assist Rooftops Canada in the ongoing development and implementation of the Equal Spaces Project including coordination of international exchanges and short-term consultants/technical advisors, and program reporting.

·         Supervise a NASHO based SHI Business Professional Assistant


Qualifications: Skills and Experience


·         Extensive senior management experience of key social housing functions in one or more medium to large social housing organizations.

·         Good understanding of the financial and institutional frameworks and systems for the implementation of successful social housing businesses.

·         Experience in developing and implementing strategic social housing capacity development interventions and the ability to train and support people in the development of skills, institutions and systems using different individual, group and online methodologies and to support others providing these interventions.

·         Strategic and business planning abilities and comfort with related IT systems.

·         Experience with monitoring and evaluation of social housing providers to enhance performance and inform capacity building initiatives.

·         Experience working with a broad range of social housing sector stakeholders.

·         Ability to work with a small, dynamic and committed team that shares a diverse range of tasks on a flexible basis.

·         Excellent English language verbal and written communication skills, meeting facilitation skills, cross-cultural and interpersonal skills.

·         Willingness and ability to live and travel within South Africa, good health, and a valid driver’s licence.

·         Ability to work independently with basic administrative support



This is a one year salaried/contract position starting in August 2018, with some room to negotiate timing with the right candidate. (This position will replace the incumbent who is departing at the end of a two-year contract.) The Advisor will be based in Johannesburg with NASHO. Remuneration will generously cover accommodation, car rental, and all local expenses. Rooftops Canada will also cover international and local airfares and travel expenses, visas and contributions to health insurance for the Advisor and a spouse/partner as necessary. All terms, including 20 days annual leave are subject to Government of Canada regulations.

Ce que nous faisons Contexte et réalisations Notre histoire en photos Conseil et employés Le rapport biannuel Partenaires canadiens Éthique et confidentialité
Afrique Activités africaines régionales Asie Europe de l'est Amérique latine et Caraïbes Le microfinancement du logement – Optimiser la croissance économique Logement et VIH/sida Droit au logement et gouvernance La sécurité alimentaire urbaine, l'agriculture urbaine et les espaces pour le logement
Quoi de neuf? Le bulletin Archives
Offres d'emploi Conseillers techniques Bénévoles Programme de stages
Campagne pour le Zimbabwe Campagne au Kenya Autres campagnes
Travailler avec nous

Conseillers techniques


Travailler avec nous

ABRI INTERNATIONAL RECHERCHE UNE PERSONNE POUR POURVOIR LE POSTE DE CONSEILLER PRINCIPAL EN LOGEMENT SOCIAL

 

Equal Spaces: Social Housing to End Spatial Apartheid in South Africa  Project (Espaces égaux : le logement social pour mettre fin à l'apartheid spatial en Afrique du Sud)

 

Stage d’un an – Veuillez répondre avant le 11 mai 2018

 

Rooftops Canada – Abri International, le programme de développement international des organismes d'habitation coopérative et de logement social au Canada, offre une assistance technique aux organismes, aux groupes de logement social et aux ministères et services de logement gouvernementaux d'Afrique du Sud depuis 1992. Ses programmes sont axés sur le développement des capacités locales afin d'aider à planifier et à mettre en œuvre des programmes et des projets de logement en collaboration avec des communautés à faible revenu. Abri international est à la recherche d'un(e) conseiller(ère) principal(e) possédant une vaste expérience dans le secteur du logement social pour un très intéressant projet en Afrique du Sud. Le conseiller ou la conseillère aidera à mettre en œuvre le programme de renforcement des capacités dans le secteur du logement social en forte expansion. Ce poste d’une durée d’un an commencera en août 2018.

 

Si ce poste vous intéresse, si vous avez besoin de plus amples renseignements et si voulez proposer votre candidature, veuillez communiquer avec Barry Pinsky, directeur général, à barry@rooftops.ca avant le 11 mai 2018.

 

 

CONTEXTE

Abri international est l'organisme d'exécution du projet Equal Spaces: Social Housing to End Spatial Apartheid in South Africa Project (Espaces égaux : le logement social pour mettre fin à l'apartheid spatial en Afrique du Sud), d’une durée de quatre ans qui a débuté en avril 2016. Il s’inscrit dans le programme de développement bilatéral entre les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Afrique du Sud. Le projet vise à revitaliser les quartiers urbains centraux grâce à des ensembles de logements sociaux abordables et sûrs bien gérés qui donnent accès à des possibilités socio-économiques qui aideront à atténuer la pauvreté et à contribuer à la croissance économique.

 

Le projet prévoit une collaboration avec les ministères nationaux du Trésor, des Établissements humains, et de la Planification, Surveillance et Évaluation de la présidence. Il prévoit aussi une collaboration avec avec la Social Housing Regulatory Authority (SHRA), le National Association of Social Housing Organizations (NASHO), la South African Local Government Association (SALGA), les gouvernements provinciaux et municipaux, et les societies de logement social (SLS), les organismes communautaires, les institutions financières et le secteur privé. De nombreux organismes canadiens partenaires participent également.

 

Au cours des 10 dernières années, la base institutionnelle pour bâtir et gérer des logements sociaux s'est élargie. La NASHO est maintenant une fédération regroupant 22 SLS qui gèrent quelque 26 000 logements locatifs sans but lucratif. Les SLS mettent également en œuvre des programmes de développement communautaire et de développement des quartiers. Il faut un grand nombre de nouveaux SLS pour atteindre l’objectif du gouvernement national, qui consiste à doubler la taille du secteur.

 

Le projet aide à renforcer les liens au niveau de la programmation entre les initiatives de logement social et de régénération urbaine dans les villes d'Afrique du Sud en établissant des partenariats et des protocoles opérationnels pour aider les gouvernements, le secteur du logement social, le secteur privé et les collectivités à élaborer et à opérationnaliser ces initiatives. Le projet est aussi axé sur le renforcement des SLS pour les aider à devenir des entreprises viables capables d'améliorer le développement et la gestion des logements sociaux. L'égalité entre les sexes est améliorée grâce à des initiatives visant l'inclusion des femmes dans le dialogue institutionnel, et à des possibilités de leadership et de perspectives économiques. Les préoccupations environnementales sont abordées au moyen d'une stratégie fondée sur les «bâtiments écologiques»

 

 

CONSEILLER(ÈRE) PRINCIPAL(E) EN LOGEMENT SOCIAL

 

Fonctions et responsabilités

La personne choisie travaillera avec de multiples intervenants en vue de renforcer les capacités du secteur grandissant du logement social en Afrique du Sud en assumant les fonctions et les responsabilités suivantes :

 

·         Aider à mettre en oeuvre un programme complet de renforcement des capacités pour le secteur du logement social en étroite collaboration avec la SHRA, le NASHO et la SALGA.

·         Dans le cadre du projet, gérer l’élaboration et la promotion de plans d’affaires en vue d’établir des services administraturs externes pour appuyer le développement et la gestion de logements sociaux, en particulier pour les SLS plus récentes à mesure qu’elles prennent de l’expansion.

·         Dans le cadre du projet Equal Spaces, gérer la mise en œuvre de la stratégie d’égalité entre les sexes en étroite collaboration avec la SHRA et le NASHO.

·         Aider à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre des systèmes de rapports, de suivi et d’évaluation liés au rendement des logements sociaux.

·         Aider à renforcer et à accroître la viabilité des programmes de développement des capacités de la NASHO dans tous les aspects liés au développement, à la gestion et au financement du logement social, et au développement institutionnel qui permettraient aux SLS de devenir des entreprises viables et prospères.

·         Mettre en œuvre des ateliers locaux et nationaux et d'autres activités de renforcement des capacités dans le secteur du logement social

·         Aider dans la documentation et l'institutionnalisation des outils de formation en ligne, des guides et des pratiques exemplaires touchant le logement social pour un usage continu.

·         Fournir un soutien technique direct aux SLS et aux municipalités au sujet de leur structure institutionnelle, de leur planification des affaires, et de leurs politiques et procédures en vue d’élaborer et gérer des logements sociaux dans le contexte de la régénération urbaine.

·         Aider Abri international dans l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre continue du projet Equal Spaces, y compris dans la coordination des échanges internationaux et des consultants/conseillers techniques à court terme et la préparation des rapports du programme.

·         Superviser un adjoint professionnel des SLS à la NASHO.

 

Qualifications : compétences et expérience

·         Une vaste expérience, à un poste de haute direction, des principales fonctions liées au logement social dans un ou plusieurs organismes de logement social de taille moyenne ou grande.

·         Une bonne connaissance des cadres et des systèmes financiers et institutionnels requis pour mettre en place des sociétés de logement social efficaces.

·         Une expérience dans l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'interventions stratégiques pour le renforcement des capacités dans le secteur du logement social et des aptitudes pour former et appuyer des particuliers dans l'acquisition de compétences, les institutions et les systèmes qui utilisent différentes méthodologies individuelles, collectives et en ligne, et pour appuyer les personnes qui effectuent ces interventions.

·         Des capacités pour la planification stratégique et d'affaires et une aisance avec les systèmes de TI connexes.

·         Une expérience dans le suivi et l'évaluation des fournisseurs de logements sociaux pour améliorer leur rendement et éclairer les initiatives de renforcement des capacités.

·         Une expérience de travail avec un large éventail d'intervenants du secteur du logement social.

·         La capacité de travailler avec une petite équipe dynamique et motivée qui partage un éventail varié de tâches de façon flexible.

·         D'excellentes aptitudes pour les communications écrites et orales en anglais, des aptitudes pour l’animation de réunions, ainsi que des compétences interculturelles et des aptitudes interpersonnelles.

·         La volonté et la capacité de vivre et de voyager en Afrique du Sud pendant deux ans, une bonne santé et un permis de conduire valide.

·         La capacité de travailler sans supervision avec un soutien administratif de base.

 

CONDITIONS

Il s’agit d’un poste salarié/contractuel d’un an commençant en août 2018, avec la possibilité de négocier la date exacte avec le bon candidat. (La personne choisie remplacera le titulaire du poste, qui quitte au terme d’un contrat de deux ans.) Le conseiller ou la conseillère sera basé(e) à Johannesburg avec le NASHO. La rémunération couvrira généreusement les frais d'hébergement, de location d'automobile et toutes autres dépenses locales. Abri international remboursera également le coût des billets d'avion pour les vols internationaux et locaux et les frais de déplacement, les visas et les contributions à l'assurance-maladie pour le conseiller ou la conseillère et son conjoint ou sa conjointe, si nécessaire. Toutes les conditions, y compris un congé annuel de 20 jours, sont assujetties aux règlements du gouvernement du Canada.