What We Do Background and Achievements Our History in Photos Board and Staff Canadian Partners Program Reports Ethics and Privacy
Africa Africa Regional Activities Asia Eastern Europe Latin America and the Caribbean Housing Micro-Finance - Leveraging Economic Growth Housing and HIV/AIDS Housing Rights and Governance Urban Food Security, Urban Agriculture and Housing Spaces
News Update E-bulletins Videos Archive
Employment Opportunities Technical Advisors Volunteers Internships
Zimbabwe Campaign Kenya Campaign Other Campaigns
About Us

Board and Staff


About Us

 

Rooftops Canada Board

 

Rooftops Canada - Abri International is managed on behalf of its Canadian partners by a Board of up to ten directors elected to three-year terms. The current Board members are:

 

President: Scott Jackson - CHF Canada, British Columbia Region

Scott is a Program Manager, National Communications for the Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada. He has been working in the sector for 11 years and has served on the boards of several co-ops. He participated in the Rooftops Canada 2010 East Africa study tour, and has experienced firsthand the successes and challenges faced by Rooftops Canada’s overseas partners.
 

Vice President: Deryl Thompson - At-Large

Deryl is a Professional Engineer and an independent Financial Advisor. He has vast experience in co-op housing, both at the national level and as the President of Keegano Housing Co-op in Edmonton. He has worked as a volunteer Education Officer in NE Nigeria with CUSO International and as an Energy Management Consultant to CIDA in southern Africa.  A passionate motorcyclist, Deryl has been a licensed riding instructor for the past 37 years.

 

Secretary/Treasurer: Paul Hastie - CHF Canada Ontario Region

Paul has worked in the co-operative/social housing field since 1985 when he was hired by Village Green Co-operative Homes in Brampton as its general manager. In 1988, Paul joined Homestarts which offers co-op and non-profit housing providers a range of management, maintenance, development, consulting, and training services. Paul is now Homestarts' Executive Director, and in 2008, he joined the Housing Services Corporation Board. He is presently a member of the HSC's Executive Committee and its Vice-chair. 

 

Sylvain Belisle – CQCH – CHF Canada
Sylvain works for the Department of the Québec Automobile Insurance Board. He has been a Board member of CQCH, FECHIMM and the CDR Montréal-Laval, a regional development co-op. He is also an active member of forestry and funeral co-ops. Sylvain has been for many years a member of an urban community garden and he has already shared these experiences with our Kenyan colleagues
 
Jamie Eyers - CHF Canada– Eastern Canada Region/NBNPHA

Jamie has worked in the cooperative housing sector for 20 years, the past five as Regional Manager of the Nova Scotia office of the Community Housing Management Network.  He was the manager of accounting services for Cana Management in Greater Vancouver for 15 years before moving to Nova Scotia.  He has worked with over 70 housing co-ops, providing a full range of management and governance supports.

 

Pamela Hine - CHRA  

Pamela Hine is the President of the Yukon Housing Corporation. She has vast experience in senior leadership within government and the social housing sector throughout Canada’s territories, including five years as the Yukon Deputy Minister of Education. In 2009 Pam was recognized by the Women’s Executive Network as one of Canada’s most powerful women in the public sector. Pam has rejoined the Boards of both CHRA and Rooftops Canada, and we are delighted to have her back as a Director.

 

Hugh Lawson - ONPHA

Hugh has been the Director, Strategic Planning & Stakeholder Relations at Toronto Community Housing since 2002. Prior to that, Hugh was Manager, Policy, in the Social Housing Branch at the Ontario Ministry of Municipal Affairs & Housing. He is also a former President of the Ontario Non-Profit Housing Association. He also worked in the development department of the Co-operative Housing Federation of Toronto. Hugh was a participant in our 2014 study visit to Africa.

 

Rooftops Canada Staff

Barry Pinsky                                   Executive Director

Brad Lester                                    Overseas Program Manager

Judy Watt                                        Program Administrator 

Jo Ferris-Davies                            Senior TA, South Africa

Lizette Zuniga                                Senior TA, South Africa

Jamie Ritchie                                 Senior TA

Ce que nous faisons Contexte et réalisations Notre histoire en photos Conseil et employés Le rapport biannuel Partenaires canadiens Éthique et confidentialité
Afrique Activités africaines régionales Asie Europe de l'est Amérique latine et Caraïbes Le microfinancement du logement – Optimiser la croissance économique Logement et VIH/sida Droit au logement et gouvernance La sécurité alimentaire urbaine, l'agriculture urbaine et les espaces pour le logement
Quoi de neuf? Le bulletin Archives
Offres d'emploi Conseillers techniques Bénévoles Programme de stages
Campagne pour le Zimbabwe Campagne au Kenya Autres campagnes
Á propos d'Abri international

Conseil et employés


Á propos d'Abri international

 

Conseil d’Abri international

Rooftops Canada - Abri International est géré au nom de ses partenaires canadiens par un conseil d’administration composé d’un maximum de dix membres élus pour des mandats de trois ans. Voici les membres actuels du Conseil :

 

Président - Scott Jackson -  FHCC, Région de la Colombie-Britannique 
Scott est gestionnaire de programme, Communications nationales, à la Fédération de l'habitation coopérative du Canada. Il est actif au sein du mouvement depuis 11 ans et il a siégé aux conseils de plusieurs coopératives. Il a participé à la visite d'étude d'Abri international en Afrique de l'Est en 2012, et il a constaté directement les réussites et les défis des partenaires d'Abri international à l'étranger. 

Président temporaire - Deryl Thompson - Membre extraordinaire

Deryl est un ingénieur professionnel et un conseiller financier indépendant.  Il possède une vaste expérience dans l'habitation coopérative, tant à l'échelle nationale qu'à titre de président de la Keegano Housing Co-op à Edmonton. Il a été agent d'éducation bénévole dans le nord-est du Nigéria avec CUSO International et consultant en gestion de l'énergie pour l'ACDI en Afrique australe. Un passionné de la motocyclette, Deryl est un instructeur de motocyclette certifié  depuis 37 ans.

 

Secrétaire-trésorier -   Paul Hastie - FHCC – Région de l’Ontario

Paul travaille dans le domaine de l'habitation coopérative et du logement social depuis 1995, lorsqu'il a été embauché par la Village Green Co-operative Homes à Brampton à titre de directeur général. En 1988, Paul s'est joint à l'organisme Homestarts, qui offre aux coopératives d'habitation et aux fournisseurs de logements sans but lucratif un large éventail de services de gestion, d'entretien, de développement, de consultation et de formation. Paul est maintenant le directeur général de Homestart et, en 2008, il s'est joint au Housing Services Corporation Board. Il est actuellement membre du comité exécutif de HSC  et aussi son vice-président

 
Sylvain Belisle – CQCH – FHCC

Sylvain travaille à la Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec. Il a été membre des conseils d'administration de la CQCH, de la FECHIMM et de CDR Montréal-Laval, une coopérative de développement régional. Il est aussi un membre actif de coopératives forestières et funéraires. Sylvain a été pendant de nombreuses années membre d'un jardin communautaire urbain et il a déjà partagé ces expériences avec nos collègues au Kenya. 

 
Jamie Eyers – FHCC– Région de l’est canadien/NBNPHA 

Jamie travaille au sein du mouvement de l'habitation coopérative depuis 20 ans, les cinq dernières à titre de gestionnaire régional au bureau de la Nouvelle-Écosse du  Community Housing Management Network.  Il a été gestionnaire du service de comptabilité pour la firme Cana Management dans la région du Grand Vancouver pendant 15 ans, avant de déménager en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il a travaillé avec plus de 70 coopératives d'habitation, offrant un éventail complet d'appuis pour la gestion et la gouvernance. 

 

Pamela Hine - ACHRU

Pamela Hine est présidente de la Yukon Housing Corporation. Elle possède une vaste expérience à des postes de haute direction au sein du gouvernement et du secteur du logement social dans les territoires du Canada,  dont cinq ans à titre de sous-ministre de l'Éducation du Yukon. En 2009, elle a été choisie comme une des femmes les plus influentes du Canada dans le secteur public par le Réseau des femmes exécutives. Elle a siégé au conseil d'administration de l'ACHRU et d'Abri international et nous sommes heureux qu'elle soit de retour à notre conseil.

 

Hugh Lawson - ONPHA

Hugh est le directeur, Planification stratégique et relations avec les intervenants, à la Toronto Community Housing depuis 2002. Auparavant, il était gestionnaire, Politiques, à la Division du logement social du ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement de l'Ontario. Il est aussi un ancien président de l'Association du logement sans but lucratif de l'Ontario (ONPHA). Il a également travaillé à la Division du développement de la Co-operative Housing Federation of Toronto. Hugh a participé à notre visite d'étude de 2014 en Afrique. 

 


Employés d’Abri international

Barry Pinsky                                                      Directeur général

Brad Lester                                                        Gestionnaire des programmes outre-mer

Judy Watt                                                            Administratrice de programme

Jo Ferris-Davies                                                principal TA, Afrique du Sud

Lizette Zuniga                                                    principal TA, Afrique du Sud

Jamie Ritchie                                                     principal TA, Afrique du Sud